Become a Member: Get Ad-Free Access to All Our Content


Judges for these much-coveted awards include many names you’ll be familiar with. Csaba Csere, Frank Markus, Richard Russell, Jim Kenzie, Dennis Siminaitis, Peter Lyon, and Paul Horrell are just some of the American, Canadian, and British overseers. Schalk Pienaar and Yasuhiko Kawamura are two of the many international judges with whom your familiarity is limited, most likely.

Winning one of the International Engine of the Year awards has become a real status symbol; BMW and Nissan/Infiniti having used their winnings to aid their image. BMW can certainly continue to exalt themselves in IEotY glory. The winners are below.
Above 4.0 litre: BMW’s 5.0L V10, as seen in the M5 and M6
3.0 – 4.0 litre: BMW’s 4.0L V8, as seen in the M3
2.5 – 3.0 litre: BMW’s 3.0L twin-turbo inline-six, as seen in the 1-series, 3-series, and X6
2.0 – 2.5 litre: Subaru’s 2.5L turbo flat-four, as seen in the Forester, Impreza, and Legacy/Outback family
1.8 – 2.0 litre: Volkswagen’s 2.0L turbo, as seen across the VW Group board
1.4 – 1.8 litre: BMW/Peugeot 1.6L turbo, as used in many’a hot hatch
1.0 – 1.4 litre: Volkswagen’s 1.4L twincharger
Sub-1.0 litre: Toyota’s 1.0L, which weighs just 67kg
Performance Engine of the Year: Porsche’s 3.6L twin-turbo, powering the 911 Turbo and GT2
Green Engine of the Year: Toyota’s 1.5L hybrid synergy drive from the Prius
New Engine of the Year: BMW’s 2.0L twin-turbo diesel from the 1-series
International Engine of the Year: BMW’s 3.0L twin-turbo inline-six, also winner of the 2.5-3.0 litre category